English / USD
Download app

Witness show-stopping ballads and original songs in the new musical The Book of Merman. The parody music is spectacularly composed, and the lyrics are guaranteed to bring guffaws from the crowd. Take a hilarious journey along with the two Mormon missionaries as you learn about love, music and the art of performance from the on-stage Ethel Merman!

Why Watch The Book of Merman

Inspired by the black comedy and hit musical The Book of Mormon, this musical captures the same wit and intelligence that made the original wildly popular. The witty dialogue and intelligent lyrics have been met with critical acclaim. With music composed by 2013 Jeff Award Winner, Leo Schwartz, you are guaranteed a show filled with spectacular tunes. The musical is a tribute to the famous singer, Ethel Merman, with several references to her thunderous voice and exuberant style. Schwartz is able to effectively capture the attention of the younger Broadway audience with his unique and catchy compositions. The wit is wonderfully woven into the lyrics, making it funny, yet smooth and natural at the same time. Many of the tunes are clever parodies of original songs, and the others are incredibly composed originals that fit perfectly into the setting of the musical. Carly Sakolove’s performance as the unparalleled Ethel Merman has won accolades from critics and the audience alike. For fans of The Book of Mormon and Ethel Merman, this musical is a must-see, and they are guaranteed to have one of the most entertaining nights in their life!

The Story

The Book of Merman follows the misadventure of two saints from Salt Lake City, Elder Shumway, and Elder Brathwaite. They walk through the city and share their beliefs and gospel, hoping to convert people to the Mormon religion and save their soul. After a long and unsuccessful day, they decide to go to one last house before they call it a day. They come upon a house with the initials “E.M.” Only when the ring the doorbell and the door opens do they realize that it stands for Ethel Merman, the legendary singer and theatre performer. Shumway, who dreams of a life on Broadway, immediately recognizes Merman and sees his opportunity to break into the big stage. Braithwaite, on the other hand, is a by-the-book rule follower and sees spreading the Mormon religion as his only goal. Join the two young missionaries in their misadventures, and watch hilarity ensue as the fun unfolds!

Good for

Date Night | Comedy Lovers | Fans of Comedy Musicals

+ Read more

Show Details

Show Timings

Wednesday 8:00 PM
Thursday 7:00 PM
Saturday 7:30 PM
Sunday 2:00 PM

Duration
Approximately 75 minutes

Leading Roles
Carly Sakolove as Ethel Merman
Chad Burris as Elder Shumway
Kyle Ashe Wilkinson as Elder Braithwaite

Directed and Choreographed by
Joe Langworth

Music and Lyrics by
Leo Schwartz

Top Songs
“Hello”, “Most People”, “You’re The Best”, “Because of You”, & “Look at Them”

Know Before You Go

Audience
Children under 4 will not be admitted into the theatre.

Available Facilities
Wheelchair accessible
In-house bar
Coat check

Seating
St. Luke’s Theatre has a seating capacity 178.

Outside Food
Strictly prohibited. If you'd like to grab a meal before or after the show, check out our guide to the 30 Best Restaurants in the Theater District.

Dress Code
Smart and casual wear is recommended. Keep in mind, the theater is air conditioned throughout the year and can get a bit chilly.

+ Read more

Cancellation Policy

This experience cannot be cancelled, amended or rescheduled.

+ Read more

My Tickets

Your e-tickets can be exchanged for physical tickets with our uniformed Headout hosts outside the theater.

+ Read more
Where?

St. Luke's Theatre, 308 46th Street, New York

View in Google Maps
+ Read more
Missing any information?
Yes
No
$39.50
$69.50
up to 43% off
Select a date
CHECK AVAILABILITY
Best price guaranteed
Why Headout?
Trusted platform used by 100K+ people, each month
Get the lowest prices and last minute availability
Discover and connect with 10,000+ experiences
Browse verified reviews and professional photographs
Have a question? Live chat with our experts 24/7
We've served 1 million+ guests and we are here for you
1 million+ CustomersHappy customers across 10,000+ experiences

4.4/5
50,000+ verified reviews with 90% excellent score

In the mediaRecommended by Apple, CNN, Techcrunch and others.

24 x 7 help CenterHave a question? Live chat with local experts anywhere, anytime